Banquet Highlights 2022-2023

The slideshow for the year in review was shown: https://youtu.be/p2OFHHJ8Atc

The following were recognized in District CDE's this year.

Alex Hofhine - 1st Place in Creed Speaking 8th Graders— Jesse Barger, Sakira Christensen, Trista Hawley, Lucas Hulse, Laia Osenga, Cooper Roche, Dax Teichert- 2nd Place in Conduct of Chapter Meetings

Letter Awards were presented to:

1st Year
Jesse Barger
Sakira Christensen
Trista Hawley
Lucas Hulse
Dax Teichert
Alyssa Pehrson
Thea Stavast

2nd Year

Emma Guerrero
Alex Hofhine
Makelle Holt
Kenadi Martinez
Damien Willman
Cassandra Johnston
Garrett Wilkie
Trinity Jonsson

3rd Year

Keaira Donahue Lexi Grover Lashae Ramsey Rylee Teichert

4th Year

Austyn Wasylow

The following received the Discovery Degree:

- Jesse Barger
- Sakira Christensen
- Trista Hawley
- Cooper Holt
- Lucas Hulse
- Dax Teichert
- Kinley Johnson
- Laia Osenga
- Cooper Roche
- Jaida Rodriguez
- Gairett Sayer
- Justin Walters

The 2022 Star Discovery Award went to Lucas Hulse an eighth grader that has done an outstanding job in the chapter. Congratulations to all Discovery Degree recipients.

The following chairmen were recognized:

Support group - Dakota Merrill Agriculture literacy - Lafe Gamett Stakeholder engagement - Jackson Bell Citizenship – Sadie Wanstrom Scholarship – Megan Moore Healthy lifestyle - Kenadi Martinez Growing leaders – Jesse Barger

This year's Green hand Degree Recipients were:

- Jackson Bell
- Vincent Bernam
- Graisyn Chandler
- Jade Farnsworth
- Emma Guerrero
- Alex Hofhine
- Makelle Holt
- Azzarel Martinez
- Alyssa Pehrson
- Lori Rowberry
- Danika Seefried
- Fisher Stavast
- Ryker Summers
- Ziggy Wood
- Damien Willman

The 2023 Star Greenhand Award went to Alex Hofhine a freshman that has done an outstanding job in the chapter. Congratulations to all Greenhand Degreerecipients.

Chapter Degree Recipients were:

- Lexi Grover
- Gabriel Huish
- Kiaira Donahue
- Lashae Ramsey
- Cassandra Johnston

The 2023 Star Chapter Degree Award went to Lexi Grover, a sophomore who has excelled in the chapter, has received their Greenhand degree, has participated in many chapter functions, and has an active S.A.E. project.

This year The Mackay FFA had 2 members who received their State Degrees, they were:

- -Micah Winters
- -Austyn Wasylow

Austyn Wasylow also was the district star farmer.

The Chapter Star Farmer this year was Austyn Wasylow

The Chapter Star in Ag Placement this year was Rylee Teichert.

The following were recognized and welcomed as Honorary Members!

Dianna Scheu

Dianna has been helping out our FFA chapter since she moved here almost 2 years ago! She's always the first to volunteer to help out and she has been a huge help with the Christmas Bazaar for the past 2 years. Even Though she is probably one of the hardest people to get ahold of once you do, she is committed to helping you out. Thank you Dianna for all your help in the FFA. It is appreciated more than you know!

Ken Day

Mr. Day is a valued part of our FFA chapter, providing unwavering support and encouragement to us all. He substitutes for Mr. Van Leuvan and always inspires us to think creatively and outside the box. Not only that, he's the assistant fire chief for the South Custer Fire Department and is always ready to lend a helping hand to students and community members. Mr. Day's extensive knowledge of the ag program is invaluable, and he's always quick to help us solve problems, whether it's in the fish lab or the welding shop. He is also the only oboe player I know.

Scholarships

Rylee Teichert and McKenzie Donahue both received a 3000 dollar scholarship from the College of Southern Idaho.

McKenzie Donahue received the Riverence Scholarship for 1000 dollars. Sponsored by Riverence and the Mackay FFA.

Lafe Gamett received a 500 dollar Kolton Kimball Scholarship.

McKenzie Donahue received a 500 dollar Kolton Kimball Scholarship.

Rylee Teichert received a 1000 dollar scholarship from the Mackay FFA

Austyn Wasylow received a 500 dollar Excellence in the Trades Scholarship for her senior project.

The following were installed as officers:

President: Austyn Wasylow

Vice President of Community Development: Gabriel Huish

Vice President of Chapter Development: Lexi Grover

Secretary: Lashae Ramsey Treasurer: Damien Willman Reporter: Cassandra Johnston

Sentinel: Alex Hofhine Historian: Alyssa Pehrson

Recruitment Chairman: Keaira Donahue